Key Post: Saving digital images

T

tedd

Hello all,

I wonder if anyone can advise me about what the best way to save digital pictures is?

I have been taking lots of digital pictures and need to save them. I have a vague idea that if I just keep saving them onto my computer it will get filled up fairly quickly. Is this true? I know I have heard of people buying CD writers for this sort of situation, but I have no experience in this sort of thing, so any advice would be great.

FYI... I have a Samsung 210 Digimax camera and the computer is a Sony Vaoi PCG-F 403 with i.link, dvd-rom drive, floppy disk drive, 64 MB SDRAM and 6GB HD (not absolutely certain what all this means, I'm copying it off the labels!)

thanks to anyone who can advise!

tedd

Re: Saving digital images

Hi Tedd - I haven't dived into the digital camera market yet myself, so I'm speaking in general terms here. A 6 GB hard disk drive is by no means huge. Most of the retail PC's that you will see for sale today would start at 20 GB. If you take off a few GB's for your operating system & applications, you won't have loads of space left over. You should also think about the safety of these pictures on your hard disk drive. Hard disk drives do fail or get corrupted from time to time. If the pictures have sentimental or commercial value to you, you should really arrange to hold a seperate copy in some other format.

The most practical solution is probably a CD-RW drive. I'm not sure if Sony make one of these for the Vaio range, or if you'd need to get a 3rd party one. The alternative to a CD drive would be an Iomega Zip drive. This might be a few quid cheaper, but would have smaller capacity and you would also lose the ability to work with audio CD's.