Job change/temporary unemployment

J

jonny

I am currently working overseas and due to circumstances outside my control (unrelated to my performance in any way) I may lose my job in a few months, however this is likely to be at very short notice. If this happens I will take a few weeks to wrap up my affairs here and then return to Ireland.

I am purchasing a new house off plans with completion expected in late September/October (at present it is on schedule though of course that could change).

I am currently approved for a mortgage but the letter of offer was only to the end of the month (I applied 5 1/2 months ago and got a 6 month validity which the broker told me was standard practice even though my expected completion was further away than that at the time)

It is possible that losing my job may overlap with the drawdown of the mortgage or that I will only recently have found a new job. I don’t anticipate it will take long to get a job (I am a qualified accountant) in the current Irish job market its just that the timing could be bad.

How are the bank likely to look at

1) Being temporarily unemployed
2) Recently started in a new job (and possibly still on a standard probation)
3) Contracting initially in a short term role while I look around for something more permanent

Would it help to renew the mortgage approval now for another 6 months while I still have my job? I believe however this is not binding on the bank, especially if my circumstances change, is that correct? Will the bank still require proof of employment again and/or payslips, statements etc. when I come to drawdown the mortgage?