Investment Diversification Plan Review

regvw

Hi,
I am trying to diversify in what I do with my savings, I generally put whatever I have away for a year and keep some funds available in case of a rainy day.

My concerns with this approach is
1. The interest rates are poor 3.3% KBC for one year at present.
2. Still have concerns over Ireland and the Euro, was very worried for a period last year.
3. Also feel i need to diversify and spread things out a little.

So here is what I was thinking, please let me know what you think in case this is off the chart as I am new to all this

1. I will buy some German bonds, seems like a low risk strategy even if Ireland leave the euro and end up with a devalued currency, I will have euro bonds.
2. I will still keep some funds in one of those one year euro accounts in Ireland
3. I will invest a small amount in xchange traded funds, maybe something in the emerging markets.

I think you would be better doing a full Money Makeover where you give details of all your assets, your mortgages, your income etc.

For example, paying off a SVR mortgage would usually be the best place to save your money.

Given the general level of uncertainty, it is not a good idea to put money away for a year. If you get nervous again about the euro, you will be even more nervous if you can't access your cash.

Brendan

I will buy some German bonds, seems like a low risk strategy even if Ireland leave the euro and end up with a devalued currency, I will have euro bonds.

Sometime in the next few years people will learn the next less of a recession - bonds are not low risk, they are a different kind of risk and you need to be just as careful in buying bonds as you would stocks or any other asset class.

Hi Brendan, here is some further details

Spouse’s/Partner's age: 31
My Annual gross income from employment or profession: €64,000 (current)
- reasonably secure
Spouses Annual gross income from employment or profession: HomeMaker