If on 3-day wk,Am I entitled to benefit?

L

ladyhawke

Hi all, Im very confused .. If my hubby is put on a 3-day week,How much is he entitled to from SW for the other 2 days. This might be a long winded story but here goes.
He learned that the general manager at his company made a speech at the AGM,stating that he would recommend that all the staff go on a 3-day week . He said that the staff would not financially be affected as the social welfare benefits will top up their wages to the same as if they were working a normal 39hr week!! I found this strange as if this were the case ..wouldnt everyone have no problem being put on a 3-day week!!
If anyone can help me ,it would be great, my hubby earns just under 39k and Im a health care professional,on about 45k.We have 2 kids under the age of 5. I would love to know how much he would get for the 2 days he isnt working?
Any help?

This is known as systematic short time. He will be entitled to two fifths of the weekly rate of JB for his circumstances. His weekly rate would be €204.3, he won't get the child dependent rate for the children or the qualified adult rate for you if your income is over €400 per week, which I would estimate it is? Therefore his JB rate for the 2 days he is not working is €81.72 (€204.3/5*2). Best to confirm with your local social welfare office of course....

A

close fababy, it's actually paid based on a 6-day week so they'll get half the weekly rate of 204.30

Still abit miffed...........your saying hes entitled to 100 quid on top of his 3 day wk wage? thats 50 euro a day, he is roughly earning 158 euro a day now(full weeks work). so the gm wasnt correct when he said that no employee would lose out on income. so this sw payment doesnt take into account married statis,kids,if spouse is working or not,etc.....so, if another employee is say,20yrs old,living at home,no bills etc.He will still get the same as the employee with 5 kids,mortgage,bills etc.
thanks for all your replies.