I can't pay my ESB bill

Maread

Hi,
I am currently on Jobseekers Benefit and due to extra expenses last month I am unable to pay my ESB bill. The payment was due by direct debit on 16th Dec, which I missed. I telephoned them and told them that I hope to be able to pay it during January, and I found their attitude very hostile. At the end of the conversation, the girl told me that she would set the direct debit payment to go again on 13th January, and if the payment didn't go through there was no guarantee of continued supply.

I intend to go to the Health Board tomorrow to see if I can get a supplementary payment. I've never done this before so I'm not sure what to expect.

Has anyone else had any experience of this with the ESB? Would they cut someone off so soon? I remember many years ago I missed a bill and the next bill arrived 2 months later with arrears. Has their policy changed? Surely, given that it is an essential utility, they should allow more time?

Any advice would be appreciated.

I'd advise you to cancel the direct debit. Ridiculous bank charges for bounced direct debits.
Get a special budget card off them and agree to pay the bill in installments. You can pay it over 8 weeks i think.
I'd ask Saint Vincent de Paul for help too. No stigma in asking in the present climate.

Thanks for your fast response, RichInSpirit!
I'm well aware of the bank charges for missed direct debits - €12.50!

I didn't know about the special budget card or that I could pay in installments. I will suggest it to them. Thanks

With the installments you have to have the current bill paid by the next bill which is 8 weeks.
With the budget card you can top it up in the post office and even pay too much if you have it.
Just thinking if you cancel the direct debit you would probably lose that price reduction in electricity for paying by direct debit.
But direct debits can be a nightmare if your strapped for cash.