I cant do my balance sheet.

S

surfjuggler

Can anyone help me? I have two books on accounting and I cant seem to get a Balance sheet done. Its my first year, I have so few transactions it cant be that complicated – but I cant figure it out after two days of racking my brain.

Transactions in 2005:
I Issued invoices and bills for 23,195.14. All paid.
I Issued one invoice at year end for 5095.92 which wasn’t paid till 2006
I had 9,477.38 in the bank at year end.
I introduced no capital at start of year.
I have no fixed assets.
I owed 100 on business credit card at year end
I took out drawings of 5.750
I calculated retained profit from P&L at 17,945.06
Which is simply income (23195.14) – expenses(2491.71) – tax payable (2758.37).
Can you help me on doing a balance sheet?
As you can see it’s a small business and I would like to avoid spending a grand on an accountant.
Thanks for any help or advice

No-the figures don't seem to add up.

I think your profit could be understated by €5095.92 -if this invoice was issued in the current year, it should form part of 'Income' in the p&l.

Are you sure you are not missing something?

Have you done an opening balance sheet and worked it out from there (the incomplete records tabular approach from LC)

Are you a limited company or a sole trader? Are the accounts for Revenue or CRO or both? If they are for submission to any state body then you really should get an accountant to assist.

Im a sole trader. I guess technically I dont need accounts for anyone, but I though I would need them to fill in the extracts from accounts page on the F11 tax return.