HSE Pension

If you have access to the internet in work, go to http://nss.hse.ie/(national shared services website), and follow the tab to the Pensions Estimator. It has lots of information specific to HSE employees paying into either the 1956 or 1977 Superannuation scheme, and has a calculator to give you an estimate of your pension.
I've tried to access this site from home but can't, but have been able to do so from work.

Ok, here goes....

I've been working for the HSE, I'm not a professional, for almost 4.5 years now. I have a basic salary plus premium/out of hours payments for working evenings/nights/weekends/b.hols etc, and I've had a permanent 39 hour week contract since November 2002. So:

1. I pay so much into my pension every fortnight from my salary. Recently I've been told that on retirement, at 65 I assume (?), that any lump sum plus pension payments thereafter will reflect my basic salary only....? Is this accurate?

2. I've also been told that as I was 26.5 yrs when I started work for the HSE, on retirement at 65 I will be 1.5 years short of the 40 years required for full lump sum and pension, but that I can 'buy' years to make this up....? Is this accurate also and if I can 'buy' years how do I do this considering it's only 1.5 years?

Yes, public sector can buy missing years. Any payments for missing years are eligible for tax relief, same as for any pension contribution.

Buying missing years IS NOT CHEAP. It may cost 25%-33% of your gross salary per year bought back.
3. Am I right in assuming I have to work to 65, and that 40 years must be accrued to gain full lump sum & pension?

To get full pension, either 40 years have to be worked and paid in, or else less years paid in, and the missing years bought back or funded via an AVC.

Whether you HAVE to work to 65, I don't know off the top of my head.