How to encash a Irish Life - Complete Solutions Personal Bond

MrEarl

Hello,

A close friend has an Irish Life Complete Solutions Personal Bond, has recently turned 60-years and has now elected to retire.

My friend needs to access money quickly (for personal reasons) and is anxious to know what his rights are, in respect of accessing funds from the above (it's a small fund with less than €40k in value).

Is it simply a case of phoning Irish Life and advising them that he wants to encash the product, then they do the rest ?

- if so, is 25% of the fund the maximum amount he can withdraw (tax free or otherwise) ?

He has no other savings but does own his personal home outright & could elect to rent a room for example, to earn a small income. Nonetheless, he wants to withdraw the entire fund, if thats an option.

Sorry I appreciate these are very basic questions, but I've limited pension experience (and what knowledge I have, is with regards to Company Schemes) and regretfully, he does not have a Financial Advisor - with the previous one who helped arrange this bond, no longer contactable.

Many thanks

Mr. Earl.

There is an alternative method of calculating his lump sum, based on his salary in the job before he left and his number of years' service. If he can access both of those figures & contacts Irish Life with them, Irish Life should be able to calculate his maximum tax-free lump sum. It may be more or less than 25%.

If the balance of the fund after taking the tax-free lump sum is €20,000 or less then he can withdraw it as a lump sum also. This lump sum would be assessable for tax and the USC.

Hello Mr. Ferguson,

Thank you very much for this assistance.

I will ask him if he has documentation to support this requirement ... in truth, he has not worked regularly for a few years and in more recent years, he was self employed rather than an employee (so I expect a tax return might serve the same purpose, to confirm his earnings).

Again, my thanks.

Regards