Good time to start a pension now?

N

Newbie123

I am a PAYE worker in my 30s with no pension
After doing a lot of research on this website and with pension providers, I have worked out the best option for my circumstances.

However two questions that I would appreciate any feedback on:
  1. I am unsure as to whether to commit now or wait 3 months until budget 2013 is announced. What are your thoughts on the likelihood of tax relief on contributions being reduced in the upcoming budget & pensions suddenly looking less favourable (I currently pay tax at 41% and would probably draw pension down at lower rate, so pensions are extremely favourable for me at the moment)
  2. Any thoughts on consensus funds (such as the Irish Life ‘Managed Portfolio 4’) vs managed funds (such as Zurich ‘Balanced Fund’)

I guess my opnion maybe biased as I work in the pension's industry but here it is anyway.

Firstly many people think that you need a pension to save for retirement but this is not the case for everyone. You can save for retirement through a number of different vehicle's including regular deposit savings, direct shareholding's in company's, property etc. and of course a traditional pension fund

The main advantage of a the latter is that each premium paid into it, currently gets full tax relief at your marginal rate and the income that the pension assets receives are also tax exempt i.e. dividents and profits on shares are exempt from tax.

The main down side to pension funds is that you have to wait until retirement to claim an income. Management fee's and cost's can be a major issue for some, especially some of the older retirement contracts so buyer beware and understand all the life company costs.