From PAYE to self-employed

Marine 8

Any pointers on my situation would be much appreciated.
I have been offered a deal by my current employer with a lump sum to leave plus a contract to do pretty much what I'm doing at the moment but from home. The company will supply me with the technology to do the job and say I can take on other work as well.
It's a lifestyle change that will suit me despite my annual income dropping to around 50k. Conflicting advise recommends setting up a a sole trader or as a company. I have done a little research and know there are pitfalls in both areas. I am more than happy to pay an initial consultation fee with an independent advisor who can point me in the right direction to make the most of my new situation...tax avoidance rather than tax evasion! After that if I need an accountant as a company, or can file returns myself as a sole trader, I'm happy to pay. I've checked out the moneydoctor and done a bit of googling but I don't need mortgage advice, life assurance policies or pension plans. Some relatively risk free investment/savings advice wouldn't go astray. Anyone recommend an advisor in the Leinster area?
Thanks in advance.

My advice would be to set up as a sole trader. I made the unfortunte mistake of setting up as a company after advice from an accountant. This was a big mistake. I had a family berevement the first year and missed the filling date. This meant I missed out on the audit exemption for small businesses. I did very little business but I still had to pay the accountant €3500 to audit my books and now I've been landed with the same bill again this year as you cant claim audit exemption for two years if you are late for one. Unless you are going to be earning big money I would keep well away from a company.

tax avoidance rather than tax evasion!