Ford Focus purchase

Mumha

Hi

We have an 02 Ford Focus Ghia (Saloon) with 44K on the clock in good nick, leather seats, 6CD changer.

We are (or were) interested in the new Ghia Saloon and without any of the extras is 26K euro. 2,000 more than the old model :mad: .

Anyway, we also have a Ford Docket which entitles us to 17.5% off the ex-works price which should save us about 4,400 off the price, you would think.

The salesman in the garage (I told him I had the docket) said we would need to pay an extra 11,200 euro :mad: with our trade in, so they are valuing our Focus at barely 11,000. This to me is a ripoff and suggests that they are pocketing at least 1,500 to 2,000 euro themselves as they will be able to sell mine on for 13,000plus.

Does anyone have experience dealing with a Ford Docket ? Should you mention it up front or after they have given you the price without the Docket ?

Thanks

I've no experience of a Ford Docket but I've got a trade in of just under €12,500 on a 02 Focus 1.4 LX 5 door against a new Focus 1.4 LX 5 door so €11,000 sounds poor for the car you've got.

Crunchie said:
I've no experience of a Ford Docket but I've got a trade in of just under €12,500 on a 02 Focus 1.4 LX 5 door against a new Focus 1.4 LX 5 door so €11,000 sounds poor for the car you've got.

Thanks Crunchie, that's what I thought too.

Try getting some quotes from other garages without mentioning the docket. If you are offered, say, 12,500 from a non-Ford garage, you should be entitled to at least the same from a Ford garage.

Doodle said:
Try getting some quotes from other garages without mentioning the docket. If you are offered, say, 12,500 from a non-Ford garage, you should be entitled to at least the same from a Ford garage.

Not sure how the Docket works, but you might be better off selling your car privately before buying the new one.