Entitlements during Illness

R

rodaco

Hi, my story is this. My husband (who is german) and I were living in Germany and decided to move home when I got pregnant (to be near family etc). We moved in August last and my husband started work here around that time. When I had my baby, I was diagnosed with ovarian cancer. Now 6 months later my course of chemo is finished and the prognosis is good. However my husband's company decided not to go ahead with his employment after his probation period was up. it was a very amicable parting and really it was because of a merger that his position no longer existed, they were very generous to him in every way. He has since found another job, but the new guys don't want him to start till July! Now i'm wondering can he receive any unemployment benefits in the meantime, and what about me? Would I qualify for DB? I was working in Germany for 5 years before i moved home. I had been working here for 3 years before I moved to Germany. I'd really appreciate any feedback on this. Oh and btw, baby is just perfect!!

Now i'm wondering can he receive any unemployment benefits in the meantime, and what about me?