do I pay tax on income still owed?

R

Reuben

Hi. I am a sole trader consultant. If I have issued an invoice but have not received payment by the end of a financial year, do I pay tax on the money owed at the end of that year, or do I pay it in the following tax period, when the money is actually in my bank account?

Reuben said:
Hi. I am a sole trader consultant. If I have issued an invoice but have not received payment by the end of a financial year, do I pay tax on the money owed at the end of that year, or do I pay it in the following tax period, when the money is actually in my bank account?

You should pay tax for the period in which the invoice is issued, rather than the period in which the invoice is paid

If you don't include the invoice you would have to include it as work in pogress and get taxed on it anyway.

The figure will carry forward as a debtor. You won't get taxed on it a second time either way

I thought you had a choice as to whether your accounts are on an invoiced basis or on a cash basis, up to a certain level of sales ?

That's certainly true for [broken link removed] but I don't know about income tax. Can anyone else clarify?

Dearg Doom said:
That's certainly true for [broken link removed] but I don't know about income tax. Can anyone else clarify?

Thats is true with VAT the "cash received" or "invoice basis" provided you qualify
Accounts must be prepared on an accruals basis i.e if you are due to get paid you are taxed on that amount
Of course if the debt goes bad you would account for it appropriately and would in effect clawback the tax paid i.e if that was the only income for the year there would be a loss when you write the debt off the following year

Ok I have a similar problem to above but with a slightly different aspect.

I have invoiced for an amount plus VAT 21%, however for various reasons I have only received the amount excluding VAT?