AIB Do I get my breakage fee refunded

Patdcfc66

Hello Brendan

Sorry I'm new to this, thanks for everything you are doing to help us.
I paid €14000 to change from a fixed rate of 5.9 per cent to a variable rate of around 3 per cent in July 2008 when we changed they never offered us a tracker, and the way they contacted us was at 10 o clock one night and proposed that we add the breakage fee onto our mortgage even though he said to me that they shouldn't really do this, firstly am I entitled to that money back, and secondly would I be part of the 300

Thanks again Brendan,
I hope I done it right this time

Hi Pat

The AIB Prevailing Rate programme applies to people whose fixed rates ended after October 2008 who were not offered a tracker.

If you got the €1615 payment two years ago, I am assuming the following:

1) You broke out in July 2008 and were offered a tracker
2) You did not choose a tracker but went variable
3) You fixed at some later date
4) When that later fixed rate ended, you were not offered a tracker - this is why you are getting the money.

If, by some chance, you were not offered a tracker in July 2008 when you broke out, then you are in an entirely different group altogether. You should be getting the tracker margin available at that time.

I don't see any reason why you should get a refund of your break fee? It seems to me to have been properly charged.

Brendan

Sorry Brendan it was July 2009
And it was done very hush hush, we just got a letter to we were being moved to a variable rate

Thanks again

Attachments

• 15980230704834166885761181598086.jpg
    15980230704834166885761181598086.jpg
    3.1 MB · Views: 240
I don't see the relevance of the fixed rate breakage fee?

You were on a fairly long term fixed rate and variable rates were a lot lower. You paid a break fee to get out of the high fixed rate.

If you knew that you could get a tracker, you would have been delighted to pay this break fee.

So, no, you won't be getting it back.