DBS in Smurfit.

A

Aingeal

Hello everyone,

I am currently in my final year of college doing a law degree. I don’t want to pursue a career in law after college and was thinking of doing a postgrad in business. I was always good at and interested in business subjects in school and should have actually done that in college. Anyway, I am thinking of applying for the DBS (Diploma in Business Studies) in Smurfit College but would like to know what my job prospects would be and if this is a good degree to do. I would appreciate any comments.

Thanks

Hi,

I have a few friends who did this but I don't see how it helped them...that's being honest...the people who went straight into employment have as good or better jobs...

I'd recommend working for a year and seeing how you get on...

Then you could still do the HDip after or a Masters or something like that.

Remember that often you'll have to do professional exams after the HDip that can take another few years to complete...employers will usually pay for these.

Also if you worked for a year and were over 23 on the first of January that you started the course you could apply for a grant to do the HDip that would cover some of the fees. You have to take a years break to be considered a mature independent student...without the break you'll be considered the same as what you started off...dependent on your parents and their income and not yours will be taken into account when applying for the job. You'd have to be living away from home to do this but there are ways around this.

I worked for a year and then did a very specific Msc funded by a grant...I'd recommend a year's break from studying to anyone. Cost me €10K or so to live for the year and I'm still paying for this but it will be worth it in the long term. The people who came straight into the MSc were just after completing their undergrad were tired from studying. The MSc was tough going.