Contractor question

States

I'm an IT contractor and have set up a limited company of which I and my wide are directors.

I want to pay myself a monthly salary and had some questions related to this and any deductions I can make to reduce my tax bill.

I have received my Tax Certificate from the Tax office so that clear on my the band and rates of tax for me.

My question is around any expenses claim I can make. Some of the other contractors I'm working with are claiming travel expenses for the daily trip to and from the office and have been on contract for nearly a year now. They are also claiming for daily subsistence. One of the guys has set up as a sole trader and in invoicing a company that he is a director of.

Q's
a. Is it OK to claim these travel & subsistence expenses?
b. Does anyone see an advantage of seeting up as a sole trader and invoicing a company that your a director of?

Finally, am I right in thinking that genuine expenses are deducted from the gross salary and tax is payed on the remainder?

thanks in advance for any help.

I work as an IT contractor and I don't believe the travel expenses are OK. It depends what is their "normal place of work". If you're based at home and travel to the office occasionally then that travel is claimable but if you work all the time for one client then I don't believe the travel from your home to work is claimable. I've been told if contracts are 3 months or so in lenght and you move around then you've a case for mileage. Mileage to interviews, appointments with your accountant or bank or similar would be OK if it's to do with your company. I think.

The subsistance question - I know some contractors pay €15 per day for subsistance. I'm not sure how legitimate this is and would like to know.