Comparsion of financial advisors

lz1

Got some independent financial advice from a local firm recently. They have really pushed one particular bank/assurance firm to invest our SSIA in.
Is there anywhere (website) I can compare to see that what they are telling us is actually true?

I realise that we are supposed to trust independent advisors but..................

Re: Comparsion of companies

What sort of intermediary were they? Multi-agency intermediary, authorised advisor? How many companies do they have dealings with? What reasons did they give for pushing one company's products? What did they say that you want to check?

Multi-agency intermediary
Dont know how many companies they deal with.
In the paper work we have they quote Moneymate as the reason Conpany XXX is the best and show tables to prove same.

As you have guessed we are complete beginners with this sort of thing, we have a nice sum of money are are nervous to the extreme as to what to do with it.
Its in a Rabo bank account at the moment.

In the paper work we have they quote Moneymate as the reason Conpany XXX is the best and show tables to prove same.
What sort of tables? Not mainly or solely past performance I hope? If they do this then I personally would ditch them and look elsewhere for advice.
As you have guessed we are complete beginners with this sort of thing, we have a nice sum of money are are nervous to the extreme as to what to do with it.
Have you read the key posts and, in particular, the AAM and IFSRA guides to savings & investments to get some idea of how to do your own financial review/planning? This is useful even if you do end up going to a professional intermediary for assistance. At least then you know more about what's what and what sort of questions to ask etc.

Thanks Clubman.

The tables were purely past performance.
We will follow up with AAM and IFSRA.

Of course the tables are past performance.
What else would they be ?