Closing of house delayed...costs

portboy

JUst a quick question to see how common or not this is...but when a house sale has been delayed for whatever reason (post contracts) but it still closes shortly after, has anyone any experience of the seller actually sueing the purchaser for the delay. I know it is in the contract that they are entitled to it but I have never heard anyone do it until this week (when it has happened to me!). Would love to hear other peoples experiences with this

JUst a quick question to see how common or not this is...but when a house sale has been delayed for whatever reason (post contracts) but it still closes shortly after, has anyone any experience of the seller actually sueing the purchaser for the delay. I know it is in the contract that they are entitled to it but I have never heard anyone do it until this week (when it has happened to me!). Would love to hear other peoples experiences with this

As a solicitor I have successfully obtained interest on behalf of clients as a result of purchasers delays so it does happen. It is rare however and really as each and every case is different I could not give you a set of guidelines as to when interest is insisted upon or not. Generally speaking I would not advise a vendor to pursue interest through the courts unless the delay was substansial or unless the purchasers have really abused the system.Interest is often threatened but seldom paid in my experience.

We closed the sale of a house (we were selling it) last Feb. We accepted an offer in November which was not quite the asking price but because the buyers said that they wanted to close before Christmas we were advised to accept it.