Car crash ,insurance claim

saintstephen

Hi hope you can help,

I was involved in a head on collision on a small back road , thank god none of us were hurt and we both agreed it was 50/50. Both cars are written off.
I am a name driver on the car i was driving, it has fully comp insurance to the value of 11,000.
We reported the crash to the guards and this is the first time dealing with an insurance company have a few questions that i hope someone can help with ...
* We are insured through a broker with AXA
* Do you get the value of the car that is on the policy. - excess.
* How long before moneys are generally paid ( it is my wifes car and the only family car)
* What is the role of the assesor ...is it just to see that the car is a write off or is it to try to find blame for example bad driving, poor brakes , tyres ,mechanics , because reading some of the threads it seems you have to argue and try to do a deal with them which i find a bit intimidating.
* Can i take the cd/radio etc out of the car as it is new.

thanks for any help

I was involved in a head on collision on a small back road , thank god none of us were hurt and we both agreed it was 50/50.
Its possible that your insurance company may not agree with you. The assessors role in determining the sequence of events can be key (sometimes) in determining liability.
Do you get the value of the car that is on the policy. - excess.
What is the role of the assesor ...is it just to see that the car is a write off or is it to try to find blame for example bad driving, poor brakes , tyres ,mechanics