can we get a mortgage

M

money mate

hello , me and my Girl friend want to build a house.

we have a site as i am a farmer.

my girlfriend been putting away 1000 k a month for a while and we now have 20 k . my aunt and uncil said they give us 15 k each for the house.

we reckon the we will need 225 k to build house and kit it out.

we reckon that to borrow 175 k over 25 years with 5 year fixed we pay 910 a month which the 1000 that she been puttig away would cover the morage repayment.

so we think we have no problem paying it back.

she on 35 k a year before tax , me been a problem been self employed , acconnts showed two years ago showed 30 k profit, last year 910 profit! and this year prob be around 20 k. the thing with accounts is they dont really show the real money you make.

the farm as bussncess loans but we have no personal loans.

so where do we stand?

Re: can we get a morrage

First a note to the Administrators; perhaps the title of this thread should be changed to include being self-employed and building a house - it may be noticed more by people who have been in similar situations. What I have to say is more about mortgages in general.

Money Mate, the only way you're going to know for sure is by asking a few lenders or maybe going to a broker. But just so you're forewarned, here are a few things they'll take into account. Apologies if I'm telling you stuff you already know!

As you say, it's not so simple being self-employed but I think they generally want to see a few years' accounts so they can get the long-term picture.