Buying Stocks with Revolut

tyler_d

I am currently buying stock with Revolut but am a little concerned about the work I might need to put into working out the tax I owe. I don't if anyone can help me with these issues

- Everything is in $$ so does that mean its going to be complicated as I need to work out the conversation rate for each buy and sell which I've done multiple on each stock.
- I assume I pay tax on when I sell and not when I withdraw the money, is that right?
- If I sell the odd stock within the 30 days, do I have to pay income tax on this rather than CGT?

If you think I need to be aware of anything else, I would appreciate any advice. I'm new to investing so don't want to get caught out too much.

Thanks in advance.

This is just my understanding , so check with professional ..etc..etc..

- Everything is in $$ so does that mean its going to be complicated as I need to work out the conversation rate for each buy and sell which I've done multiple on each stock.

Take the ammount of money you put in from the ammount you have now. That's your profit.

So if you put in €100 and today you have €125 your profit is €25. (When last sold your shares).

- I assume I pay tax on when I sell and not when I withdraw the money, is that right?

Tax applies when you sell. But as losses count for CGT you total profit after your last transaction at the end November/December is what counts.

- If I sell the odd stock within the 30 days, do I have to pay income tax on this rather than CGT?

I am not aware of any rule like this. I think you may have read something American where there are differences between long/short term investments.