Buying out my home from Shared Ownership

S

Sinead..1

Hi,

I purchased my home 3 years ago on a Shared Ownership Scheme. I was on a low income so I opted for this as I wouldn't get a mortgage from a bank. Today I am on a salary of E22,000 and am trying to remortgage with the bank but as usual noone will give me the time of day as I am on a low salary. It really is very unfair as I am capable of paying back a mortgage as I have been doing so for the past three years. Does anybody have any ideas for me? I'd appreciate any feedback.

Thanks.

Sinead.

Some questions:
  • What was the original purchase price of the property?
  • What percentage (> 40% as far as I know) did you buy in it?
  • Did you get a mortgage for this and, if so, from whom and for how much and at what rate?
  • How much is outstanding on this mortgage?
  • What is the current value of the property?

Banks these days have pretty lax lending policies. If a bank is reluctant to believe that you can pay back a mortgage, you should take heed of what they say and give yourself a really objective financial analysis. How would you cope if you were sick for a while? Had a child? got made redundant?

If having carried out this analysis you are absolutely 100% certain sure that you will be able to pay back the mortgage, then I suggest you go to a mortgage broker. I have very little time for mortgage brokers myself (nothing against the people - it is just surprising to me that their industry needs to exist at all), but for somebody who is finding it hard to get a loan, there is no doubt that going through a broker offers better prospects than going direct to the lender. There are some very good and reputable brokers who post regularly on this site.

Best of luck with it!

Hi Sinead - Maybe if you start saving the mortgage repayments and you can show a good savings track record with a healthy lump sum in a couple of years time, the banks might consider you then.