Buying a property with partner while we retain our own existing properties for rental purposes

Ianace

Hello all,

This is my first time posting in this forum so please forgive me if I don't frame this properly or leave out important information. My circumstances aren't overly common, we have engaged a broker who is struggling a bit to obtain AIP for us and I was wondering if any members would have any tips. I'll set out our circumstances:

Me: 44 years old, €103k salary, civil servant, I own a home worth €200k with a €25k outstanding remaining mortgage with 8 years left to run. I have that property rented out currently at €2k per month, I'm overpaying the mortgage of €350 (tracker) by €400 per month currently (€750 total), I have €50k in savings.

Partner: 39 years old, €93k salary, public servant, she owns an apartment worth €375k with €230k left to repay that we're both currently living in, she is paying €1250 per month on the mortgage plus €100 management fees. She has €45k in savings.

We have been saving €2300 per month for the last year between us (more like €2500 per month if increase in current A/C balances is included), our net monthly income after tax (including tax set aside for my rental income liability @ 52%), pensions and health insurance is €9,800, we then pay €2k of that for the mortgages, with another few hundred for management fees, electricity, internet and so on.

Our broker was initially confident that we would have no issue with obtaining a mortgage of up to €600k, we aren't looking to draw down that much as we'd like to keep the monthly repayments for the new property at around the €3k mark. We've been looking at properties that would go for around €600k, so a mortgage of €540k.