Building a stone house with own hands and no experience

Billythebuilder

Is it possible?

The effort and work side of it would not be a problem.

I'm thinking stone masonary can be self taught and you could use the slipform method.

But say you built your own natural stone walls for the house by yourself , how easy would it be to get it signed off by the authorities?

Is it possible on the legal side in the UK & Ireland?

Cheers

Is it possible?

The effort and work side of it would not be a problem.

I'm thinking stone masonary can be self taught and you could use the slipform method.

But say you built your own natural stone walls for the house by yourself , how easy would it be to get it signed off by the authorities?

Is it possible on the legal side in the UK & Ireland?

Cheers

Is someone going to live in this house when it's built?

Have you any experience at all in building houses? It's not as easy as you might think.

Are you up to speed with Ireland's building regulations?

There's nothing that cannot be learned. But? Good luck with it, come back and tell us how you feel after it all please. As a matter of interest what do you do at the moment?

Is someone going to live in this house when it's built?

Have you any experience at all in building houses? It's not as easy as you might think.

Are you up to speed with Ireland's building regulations?

Thanks everyone. Will check out all those links and get on that FB group.

I dont have any building experience, but was on building sites everyday, years back but as a machinery fitter.

My father basically built a large extension out of collected flint from surrounding farmland, with the help of one bricklayer.

I just wonder how easy it is to get major structural work that you have built with your own hands - like walls for example, signed off by Building Control? Would they take on the risk?

Cheers