Building a house - Stamp Duty & Co. Council issues

L

Long Fella

Hi all,

This is my first post so apologies in advance if I leave anything relevant out.

I am considering buying a site 7/8 miles outside Navan in a rural area. I am originally from this locality and my parents still live there. The intention is to build a house on the site subject to planning permission. However, I do not intend to live in the house for the next three years at the very least - if at all - as I work and live in Dublin now. So this is wholly an investment idea.

I only really started considering this last night so only a couple of things have occured to me.

I will be exempt from Stamp Duty as it is my first time buying a property. However, I will not be able to rent the property as I will then incur a Stamp Duty liability from the Revenue - as they will claw it back because I'm renting it and not living there. Correct?

Or am I even charged Stamp Duty considering I am building the house - and not buying a finished product? So therefore could they claw it back? (Sorry, I am not up to speed with Stamp Duty).

I believe County Councils have a "local needs" condition attached to all planning permission requests in such areas i.e. you need to be from the locality to be successful with a planning application. As I said, I am originally from this rural area and my family still live there so this hopefully will not be a problem. However, I believe that County Councils impose a condition on such applications that you cannot sell the property for 7 years. Is this correct? Does this mean I cannot sell the house full stop or does it mean I can sell it but won't get Principal Private Residence exemption from CGT?

In conclusion, if I cannot rent it and I cannot sell it for 7 years, making it highly illiquid, it wouldn't be much of an investment would it?