BTEA questions

I

Ion

Hi, I'm wondering if you can help. I hope this is in the right place.

I'm hoping to return to college in September as a mature student, I don't qualify for BTEA because I am not receiving any welfare payments. My husband is working, if he were to be made redundant after I had already begun the course, would I then be able to apply for BTEA for the following year as his qualified adult? Or would I not be eligible because I had already completed a year of the course?

And also, if he were to be made redundant while I was in full time education, does this mean that we would not qualify for rent allowance because I would be studying full time?

Thanks

If you haven't all ready have a look at the link below.

Spouse, civil partner or cohabitant can qualify for BTEA

You may qualify for BTEA if you are not getting a social welfare payment but your spouse/civil partner/cohabitant is getting an Increase for a Qualified Adult in their social welfare payment for you. To qualify your spouse/civil partner/cohabitant must have an entitlement to BTEA and be getting an Increase for a Qualified Adult in his/her social welfare payment for you as an adult dependant for the required amount of time - see 'Rules' below.
If you qualify for BTEA because you are an adult dependant, you will get the same social welfare payment as your spouse/civil partner/cohabitant but at the maximum standard personal rate. Your spouse/civil partner/cohabitant will keep his/her entitlement to his/her personal rate of payment. You will also qualify for the annual Cost of Education Allowance.
If you get the Back to Education Allowance your spouse/civil partner/cohabitant can still keep his/her ent

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/e...to_education/back_to_education_allowance.html

There is a general rule that you must be starting the first year of a course to be eligible for BTEA, although there are exceptions to this: