Broadband & Internet Telephone Overview (for beginners)

Betsy Og

Having spent half the morning sussing this out I'm making use of the research to save some of you some "shoe leather" in researching yourself.

Note I'm not a techie so this is a consumers overview. The starting point is someone who is can only possible get broadband by getting an eircom line installed (though the internet telephone stuff is relevant (or even more relevant) to those lucky people who can get internet some other way).

Step 1 Broadband

-Need broadband before you can do anything. Only option at the moment is to get Eircom phone line installed costing €121. No guarantee that it’ll work.
-You get a wireless modem so, although you need the phoneline to get broadband, you don’t need to be plugged into the phone socket and should be able to move around the house with laptop – so its “wireless” to that extent though not a true wireless broadband.
-As its eircom you need to pay line rental approx €25p.m. regardless of whatever else you do.
-You then have to pay for eircom broadband which is about €30p.m. for 2mb (maybe €25 for 1mb). Probably worth getting 2Mb assuming the line supports it.

Step 2 Phone Calls

-So, to get broadband you have to pay eircom about €50 - €55 p.m. so you’re better off “bundling” it for €56 for unlimited evening and weekend calls to local & national (€61 for unlimited anytime). This means that your phone calls are pretty much free.