BMW Bank 3% instant demand deposit

Are people sure that this isn’t a scam?

I’ve no reason to think that it is, but there have been plenty of fake Goldman Sachs, Barclays, and Morgan Stanley ones doing the rounds recently.
It's not a scam and the links to BMW Bank can be found on the BMW website. Most of these car companies seem to operate their own banks, presumably so they can offer attractive financing deals to purchasers of their products. I personally feel more comfortable having my rainy day fund in this bank than in Trade Republic, even though it was in a real bank (in my case Chase in Frankfurt) too, but there was a middleman and always the question of what happens if the middleman goes bust. BMW is a bank and there's no intermediary like with TR. I feel more comfortable with that, but clearly it's not for everyone as there are going to be some hoops to jump through in order not to be subject to the "German DIRT".

I'm an Irish resident and have German bank accounts. I only needed to send a utility bill to prove non-residence and get exemption from the German equivalent of Dirt. I supplied my PPS number. Didn't need a German tax number.
I haven't tried BMW Bank though. If I can find some spare cash to deposit, I'll give it a go.