Being asked to be put on payroll

student2301

I work in the hospitality industry and am soon returning to work after over three months off due to the coronavirus situation. Unfortunatelty, although I am paid by bank transfer rather than in cash, I am not on payroll, therefore I have not been able to receive any furlough pay. The same situation applies to the others, approximately a dozen, who I work with. We are all part time, mainly students, and although some of us often work enough on occasional weeks to both a) pay NI contributions and b) make our employer eligible to pay employers NI, none of us consistently earn above the threshold every week.

In our bank accounts, our wages have the reference “*employer name* fees” rather than “*employer name* wages”, which we were told was on the advice of the employers accountant. As we are set to reopen soon, I asked whether I could be put on payroll. I did this seeing as we face the real possibility of a second wave and all areas of hospitality closing once again, hence another loss of income. I was told this couldn’t be sorted by opening (understandably as there is lot of prep to do) but that when me and my boss meet in the week after reopening I should bring my contract to discuss this. That worried me slightly as I would thought it would have been a legal right for employees to ask to be put on payroll, rather than something that is up for discussion.