Bankrupt up North and work in the South?

newlife

Hi,
I posted some questions way back here, on going bankrupt.
Unfortunately, a year later and I am still deliberating....yea, sad I know.
One main factor is I have a good job here that I would love to keep. Is it possible to move up North but to still work in the South?
Also, after Bankruptcy, how long would it take before (if at all) that I could re apply for a loan/mortgage? Obviously, my credit rating at the moment is not that wonderful anyhow. :(

Hi, I looked some stuff up and see that my credit rating will be affected for six years, is this correct?
Also, I am guessing that working in the South might be a red alert for the Judge, but if I was a Consultant, instead of a PAYE worker, would that be different?
Would love any advice! Thanks....

One main factor is I have a good job here that I would love to keep. Is it possible to move up North but to still work in the South?

Among the basic criteria for eligibility to be declared bankrupt in NI is the requirement that NI is your centre of economic activity, if you are still employed in the ROI and it is your main source of income then that is not going to fly, since very clearly you are a bankruptcy tourist.

Hi, I looked some stuff up and see that my credit rating will be affected for six years, is this correct?
Also, I am guessing that working in the South might be a red alert for the Judge, but if I was a Consultant, instead of a PAYE worker, would that be different?
Would love any advice! Thanks....

It a question of fact, your economic centre of activity is NI or not. The fact that your income comes from the ROI, regardless of the payment method, means that you are not truly based in the NI.

It a question of fact, your economic centre of activity is NI or not. The fact that your income comes from the ROI, regardless of the payment method, means that you are not truly based in the NI.