ARFs should not be permitted for AE pensioners

I'm trying to educate myself on financial matters. The union guy at work here is known as the guru on pensions and investments. We're on the same shift these days so I'm picking his brains. It's gas but when he read your post, he had different questions than me. He wondered about the pensioners who did not get an increase if they were in a union? He also wondered what did the valuation say about giving increases to pensioners. He said that in his experience valuations say what benefits are expected to be paid and that's how the recommended contribution is worked out.

Hi @Robzig . Don't know if your question is addressed to me or to @Duke of Marmalade, but I'll try to give an answer to what I think it might be. Others more knowledgeable, feel free to row in.
Firstly, it's 40 years ago since I was a pensions consultant; bear that in mind.
I'll also say at the outset that DB (defined benefit) and DC (defined contribution) occupy different worlds. I get the impression that you are in a DB scheme (don't know why!). If so, you're a dying breed. There's fewer and fewer of you Most have moved to DC.
For DC schemes, the employer says bye-bye when someone retires. It wants them to disappear out of its life. I doubt if the unions care about them much either.
For DB schemes, there is now an obligation to grant inflationary increases in DEFERRED entitlements, i.e., someone who leaves before retirement with a deferred pension based on their earnings at or around the time they left. That right didn't exist in my time. As an aside, I was a big loser under this heading: I left Irish Life after 13 years and didn't get a penny (other than my own contributions back), since any deferred pension from my years there would have stayed static in money terms, with its value eroded by inflation - around 10% a year at the time.