Another AVC Question....

sidzer

Hi all,

I am a 53yr old teacher and planning on retiring in 4 or 5 years age 57 or 58.

5 years ago I started an AVC with Zurich - I made 2 lump sum payments of 8,000 5 yrs ago - and then 10,000 4 years ago. fund is currently worth 22,500.

I then decided to go the NPS route and signed up to buy back the years that I would be missing at age 60 (approx 11 yrs).

I am currently paying 28% of my gross pay into my pension and can afford to do an AVC of 2% which would bring my pension contributions up to 30%. I will up this to 35% at age 55 - retirement.

I like the simplicity of going the Cornmarket route with deductions from gross salary - Zurich would be a lump sum payment at the end of the year and then making a tax return.

My question is - is this a simple issue of buying a similar good in 2 different shops? Or is it a foolish move not to stick with Zurich? ie.

Any opinions would be most welcome.

Thanks - Sidzer

5 years ago I started an AVC with Zurich - I made 2 lump sum payments of 8,000 5 yrs ago - and then 10,000 4 years ago. fund is currently worth 22,500.
€26k paid in and now it's only worth €22.5k?
What are all of the charges that apply?
And what is it invested in?
I like the simplicity of going the Cornmarket route with deductions from gross salary
Again, what charges apply and what investment options are available?

Sorry for not making it clearer. The 2 payments were 18,000 in total! It was invested in their Risk Level 5 fund - whatever that is I am not sure.

I think there is an annual charge of 1% with Zurich.

As far as know the charges for Cornmarket are higher but not exactly sure - but for me the convenience of deduction from work salary would make up for the differences.

My main question is that in theory is it a bad idea to have AVCs from different providers - Does this cause problems at the time of draw down in terms of fees / tax / flexibility etc.

Thanks CM

Last edited: