Annual return to CRO

O

o2o3

Can someone help please?

I was an IT contractor working under my own company and traded only for 6 months. I'm now fully under PAYE. I have ceased trading but have to file my annual returns with the CRO. This is the 2nd return I'm filing and so have to submit what is called audited accounts along with form B1. I never had any accountant and did the accounts myself but now am not sure as to how to get these accounts audited. Is this something that I can do myself or should I get some acountant check my accounts. if so, would someone know how much they charge??

Thanks.

Unless your turnover was more than €1.5m you're probably exempt from the audited accounts requirement. See [broken link removed] and make sure you file on time.

Unless you are very confident in your book-keeping skills and the requirements of the CRO you probably should seek the help of a professional.

You can indeed claim the audit exemption, but only if your annual return (B1) and accounts are filed on time. If these are overdue at all, you cannot claim the audit exemption, and must have the accounts audited.

Also, just a minor point for anyone else checking this out, A lot of people are not aware that as a limited company, regardless of whether you are trading or not, you are still obliged to file an annual return and accounts with the Companies Office annually.

Many people assume that if they have a limited company that's not trading, they have no filing obligations with CRO, but this is not true.... i learned the hard way!!

Dear 0203

Its very important that you deal with this issue now and have your accounts completed and filed on time. You have 28 days from your Annual Return Date (ARD) to file. After that you will start to incur penalties.

As soon as the company's filings are brought up to date you should then file for the company to be struck off the register.