Am I entitled to SW - no PRSI paid from 09/07 to 08/08

micamaca

Hi,

I am confused over the two year period mentioned on Jobseekers forms. To explain, I am a mature student. I was on an Erasmus year from September 2007 to end of August 2008. My husband took a career break and came with me. So he did not contribute any PRSI during this time.

When I went to fill out the Jobseekers Form in July, it asked have you been in the country during the last two years. Well, we hadn't. I asked someone at a the local community centre, if I would be eligible and they said no. So I didn't apply.

I then spent the next six months looking for jobs abroad but did not have any success. I even moved abroad to try to increase my chances.

I am now back in Ireland and I would like to see if I am eligible for social welfare at this stage. My husband is back in work since September 2008 paying PRSI. Should I be entitled to anything now that I am back in Ireland seeking work?

thanks for your replies

M

The reason you were questioned about your absence from the state was due to the 'Habitual residence' rule. If, as your post suggest,you were absent from the state from September 2007 to July 2009, then you were not out of the state for 2 years. Also, as you will read in the link, it is not simply a matter of how long you were absent as other factors are taken inot account, including reason for absence and future intentions.
I cannot understand how you failed to apply when somebody other than SW told you that you were not entitled to claim; trey couldn't possibly know as these things are complicated!
At this stage, you are definitely outside the 2 year period and you will have to apply for JA to undergo the 'habitually resident' check and this time get an official decision on it.

Last edited: