Advise on Teacher's AVC with Cornmarket: Opt out? reduce to minimum?

B

Bro123

Hi,

I am a 24 year old teacher working for 4 years now.

In my first year teaching a cornmarket representative arranged to meet me and advised me at the time to open an AVC accout and contribute about 70 euro / month (He did not mention at the time that there would be around 800 euro setup fee).

The following year another cornmarket rep persistently persued me to set up a meeting until I eventually agreed. This time he reccommended that I up my payment from 70 euro / month to 160 euro / month. After this meeting I was charged 500 euro without any indication that this would be the case.

Based on other theads on AskAboutMoney I now realise that the advise given was poor and biased & just wondering at this stage should I opt out of my AVC or should I just change the amount to the minimum?

I am not sure what the effect of opting out would be. I know there will probably be similar charges as above for changing to the minimum.

Sorry about the long post - hopefully other young teachers will avoid the pitfalls above.

Have a look at one of my previous posts: Re: A.V.C. -High cost startup?

My wife has dropped Cornmarket after being in the scheme for about 8 or 9 years. The Dept. are also charging 1% for collecting your AVC before passing it on to Woodchester.

btw, the reason he pushed for the meeting was so that he could catch you for the charge. I believe that you can now increase your payment, without advice, without any charge.

Q? Did you get value for your €500? In my experience of dealing with them directly, with my wife, their advice is general, vague and limited. My wifes current QFA gives specific advice and is the quality is light years ahead of Cornmarkets.