Accountant fees

funkylady

i was wondering how much an a/c should charge i am new in buisness i am doing the books, vat returns myself
any ideas
funkylady

You would need to expand further on your situation.

For starters is it a Limited Company or Sole Trader? What is the level of transactions and the turnover?

its very difficult to give an accurate quote without seeing the books or having a better knowledge of your business.

if your turnover is 70,000 per annumn, take out the vat and cost of sales ...depends on your margins / is it a service or retail type business etc...maybe you make 10 or 20 k per year gross profit....will your accountants take ten per cent of your annual gross profit on you ? Worth getting a quote or two. I know of one business last year where the gross profit was about 25,000 and the accountants took nearly a fifth of that - robbers !

Certainly get a few quotes. The quotes we got varied wildly and were;

1. €3000 - €4000
2. €1600
3. €750

Exactly the same specification for all three.

Ask for a personal recommendation from a person or business organisation you trust.

But realistically, the amount should not be based on a percentage of your turnover or profit. Would you expect your accountant to work for free (or even pay you) in a year when you made a loss?

I agree that it should not be a percentage of turnover. I am in the same position you are with a slightly higher turnover and pay about 1050 incl vat.

A small firm is probably better for your needs than a large one.

Make sure they can do ROS filings (you will need this if you haven't already filed this year to make the deadline of 15 November). Note, you are leaving it late for this year!

Certainly get a few quotes. The quotes we got varied wildly and were;

1. €3000 - €4000
2. €1600
3. €750

Exactly the same specification for all three.