ACC Bank-Did they do home loans??

dmak

Hi
Okay... I got a loan for my house from ACC in 2006. At the time I told them that my wife and I would be living in the property, which they said was OK but that they didn't do home loans only commercial ones. In order to get the loan I had to provide accounts for my business over the last 3 years blah,blah. Now in 2008 my business went pop (I'm a civil engineer and was in private practice, owed lots of money in small amounts that I will never get), so I couldn't pay the mortgage. ACC started to throw there weight around so I tried to buy the loan off them by raising 500k from every source I could think of (I borrowed 580k paid 100k had arrears of 25k at the time) they refused. To cut a long story short they would only accept lower payments if we signed the house over to them, which we refused. So they got a Judgement against us and are now looking to have a repossession order put on our home. I have been to MABS who say that as it was a commercial loan they cant help, I cant get free legal aid because they consider it a commercial loan, I'm now on Disability benefit because I've had several nervous breakdowns but we cant get mortgage relief because the social say we got a commercial loan.

Every piece of paper we got off ACC says "HOME LOAN" on it and they are taking us through the circuit court, they also have requested that we sign a non-disclosure agreement if they achieve the repossession. All my research tells me that ACC don't do home loans and never did. Any one with advice or help out there??

I am not sure what the issue here is. They gave you a loan to buy the house in which you lived. You told them that you would be living in it. Therefore it is a home loan under the Mortgage Arrears Code and for tax purposes. It does not matter whether it is ACC's normal practice or not.

So they got a Judgement against us and are now looking to have a repossession order put on our home