About to inherit a small seasonal business, but highly inexperienced in taxation

Sgt_Pepper

Hi folks,

I'm a self-employed musician for years, tax-compliant and registered as a sole trader with revenue. When I first registered I hired an accountant to take care of things and do my returns, and after seeing what was involved, more specifically after seeing on paper how the accountant arrived at his calculations, in a sense kind of reverse engineering what the accountant did, my wife decided she'd like to take it on and do it instead. Like my father, she's a natural on that front and actually likes it. They're meticulous, I'm a complete disaster. My accountant's bill was usually around 600 a year, he said my bill was low because I only had about 160 invoices to process. 160 gigs per year. Incidentally, he was always asking me to send more musicians his way - I assume it was because our line of work made things easy for him as it's so simple. You're not dealing with assets, the invoices I had in quickbooks for each gig and I'd simply forward it to him every year. He'd then tell me what I owed revenue and when to pay it. Job done. Nor was I charging VAT, I simply couldn't compete with the vast majority of musicians out there if I was. The music world is a black-market, cash-based business.

About 5 years ago my father and I set up a small hire company. I don't want to identify the line of work as it would identify me, but there are maybe 20 of us in Ireland in this line of work. It's event-related. So needless to say as both a musician and co-founder of this business, we took a massive hammering last two years due to lockdown. I played my first gig in 18 months last week, second last night so the green shoots are appearing. Normally I'd book out as a musician one year in advance with my approx 40 regulars. Right now I have 3 bookings in for the rest of this year. The pubs/clubs/venues are naturally being highly cautious right now.