3 jobs - no pension!

kittyjo

I'm 38 and have finally decided that I need to get a pension in order, I work in 2 part time jobs that offer no pension facilities and I also work as a part -time firefighter. We are now been offered a chance to join a local gov superann scheme with the firefighters which will be a % of our part-time salary. As I can't understand the whole pension malarkey i was hoping someone could tell me if I should join this and set up some other prsa to make it into a full pension? Or what is the best way for me to get a decent pension for my retirement?
Also I have a lump sum that I could put into a pension policy to make up for all my lazy years. Can you do this??
Sorry if this doesn't make sense

If you put away any amount up to 20% of your before tax earnings per year this will effectively be added to your tax free allowances.

Say you earn €50,000 per year before tax. If you put away €10,000 p.a. this will go into your pension and you will no longer pay tax on this, saving you €4,100 p.a in tax. So effectively you're putting in €5,900 of your own money and €4,100 that you would otherwise have paid in tax.

If you do this until you're 65 you could potentially build up a retirment income worth €20,000 p.a. in today's prices. Combined with a state pension this would give you a decent retirement.

The lump sum will give you a good start on this target and once you get a start it will ge easier with pay raises, etc

Now why couldn't you be writing the pension brochures:) That makes some sense. But do I go it alone or should I go with my employer - or does it make any difference?

Say you earn €50,000 per year before tax. If you put away €10,000 p.a. this will go into your pension and you will no longer pay tax on this, saving you €4,100 p.a in tax. So effectively you're putting in €5,900 of your own money and €4,100 that you would otherwise have paid in tax.