2 unrelated activities of Sole Trader

Numbs

I'm a sole trader whose main business is as a consultant. This is where my main business expenses occur as well....transport, office equipment etc..
I am taking a short term contract to do something that is entirely unrelated to my main activity. Can I use my business expenses from my main activity to lessen my taxable income gained from my short term contract. I doubt it, but would appreciate some confirmation from somebody in the know.

Numbs said:
I'm a sole trader whose main business is as a consultant. This is where my main business expenses occur as well....transport, office equipment etc..
I am taking a short term contract to do something that is entirely unrelated to my main activity. Can I use my business expenses from my main activity to lessen my taxable income gained from my short term contract. I doubt it, but would appreciate some confirmation from somebody in the know.

I have a similar dilemma - I'm trying to set up a company which is primarily an electronic design consultancy, but I need to use my taxi plate (which I've just bought god help me!) and my knowledge of second-hand car importing to get some cash-flow going for the first year or two.

From what I gather, it's called 'ultra vires' trading and it's not allowed. You must specify the company's business using a special EU-standardised code. I don't know how you can set up a ltd co. with several of these EU-standardised codes because there's only space for one such code on form A1 which is used when registering a company.

On the issue of a sole trader trading ultra vires, I don't know. Perhaps someone can enlighten us mere mortals