Ulster Bank: 6 month break in mortgage?

ButtermilkJa

The below was mentioned on another thread...
I'm with the Ulster Bank for my mortgage and their policy is you can only take one payment break for the life of your mortgage, the max is six months and you have to put the request in writing to them explaining why you want/need the break...

Good Luck
Has anybody any experience of what would UB would regard as an acceptable reason? I have been paying my mortgage for over 3 years without any problem. I have a car loan of €7k which I would like to pay off asap as I could really do with freeing up the €360 p/month it's currently costing me. Taking a 6 month break would enable me to clear the loan in full.

Would this be an acceptable reason to take a break in the mortgage? If so, would it be a good/bad idea to do this (in terms of how much it would cost me in the long run. Still 30-odd years left on mortgage!)?

Would this be an acceptable reason to take a break in the mortgage? If so, would it be a good/bad idea to do this (in terms of how much it would cost me in the long run. Still 30-odd years left on mortgage!)?
Technically, it is a good idea... but with a significant caveat.

The car loan will have a significantly higher rate than the mortgage. So clearing the loan at a higher rate is a good idea.

However, if you leave the excess on the mortgage (e.g. the extra six months interest) over the entire life of the mortgage (the 30 odd years) you'll end up paying a significantly higher amount of interest in the long run.

If you clear the car loan and then adjust your mortgage payments (e.g. put the money you would/have been putting against the car loan against the mortgage) you should end up with a net benefit from the move in the long run.

Not sure what UB would consider a "valid reason". I'd assume that "balancing of outgoings for a short period" would fall under what's acceptable, but have no experience of it.