Key Post: Buy or lease?

nod

I'm a sole trader in the grass cutting business and will be buying new cutting equipment in the coming months.
I will be investing approx 15-20K and am wondering is it financially better to buy the equipment outright or to lease it,I have the funds at hand to buy outright.Are their better tax reasons for leasing the equipment.
Also,I am not presently registered for VAT but will have to register next year as I have exceeded the VAT ceiling.

Re: Which is better,buy equipment outright or lease

are your customers VAT registered or is it private grass cutting you do? if your customers are VAT registered then you being VAT registered should not cause any problems with price competiveness etc. In that case I would register for VAT ASAP so that you can claim back the VAT therefore reducing the cost of your equipment by (presumably) 21%. Talk to your accountant in any case as it might make sense to register now regardless.

with regards to purchasing the equipment obviously there is a cost involved in leasing so this must be considered.

From a tax perspective you get capital allowances at a rate of 12.5% per annum over 8 years if you buy outright.

If you lease you will get the tax relief over the term of the lease (3 / 4 / 5 years). Numerous things need to be considered (e.g. tax treatment when lease in finished) so I think that a chat with the accountant is in order.

Thanks DaveCork for advice.unfortunately most of my customers are private customers and therefore not VAT registered.I will either have to absorb the 13 % VAT or add it on.I have spoken to my accountant about registering for VAT and will have to do so.