How to light a BBQ?

LBT

Hi,

I bought a kettle bbq in argos

had a bbq a few weeks ago and its took ages to start it I understood that once you light it you should cover it and then make sure no air goes in but that didn't work....

anyone know what is the best way to light it and keep it lighting!

Re: How to light a BBQ!!

make sure no air goes in but that didn't work
not surprised! Any fire needs oxegen to light.

The weber is no different to light than any other BBQ; use the 'instant' bags for a bit and you can add ordinary charcoal then once it's lit.

And bless your enthusiasm - I haven't had the heart to light the barbie this summer.:)

Re: How to light a BBQ!!

Thanks for your help
the sun is out and the garden furniture WILL be used this year!

I'm a near Barbie novice too but after 3 of them I'm flying!

A 'fanning' of the flames will help no end - don't forget to wait until the charcoal is completely white before you cook!

When I lived in Oz I had the good job of making the salads while the men started the Barbie and cooked!
so I am hoping after today I will be a pro!

I usually pour a capful of white spirit on the fuel BEFORE lighting, but never use petrol! I always keep a small bit of timber offcuts to hand to get the fire going at first.

We got a barbie a while ago, and hadnt a clue but after 3 of them like another poster are flying!!

There is some sort of a white gel looking tube you can get to. I got it in b&q after you put on the charcoal sprinkle this stuff over it and light it and then leave it for three quarters/to a hour till it all white. Very easy for people with no idea like us!!

Barbie is so going to be out this weekend.

Can get coals in prepack bags in Woodies, work grand, a cheap barbie from B& Q , a match & ur off.

Gas.......naaahhh !