Key Post: General tips on car hire including hiring child seat

A

ajapale

Has anyone any tips or advice concerning car hire in South East England?

Ill be tavelling 'en famile' at Easter.

Thanks,
ajapale

Re: UK Car hire

I've praised www.arguscarhire.com in the past, 'though I've never used them in the UK before...

They're not a rental firm as such, rather an online 'broker' service (and Irish to boot!)
Argus will source for you the best fully inclusive rental rates from the worlds top 100 approved car rental companies both local & international with just one click.
Good service, though. You could try them for a quote and then try the given rental company's site directly..?

Re: UK Car hire

Thanks DrM, thats a very useful site!
ajapale

Re: Ryanair Car Hire

Y'welcome! :)

It's always worth cross-checking directly with the company — see my previous post below:

Dr Moriarty
Frequent poster
Ryanair Car Hire

Bringing the family to Spain for a week in March, and — having booked Ryanair flights — clicked through to their "special discounted rates" for Hertz car rentals. Priced a Ford Focus Ghia Estate for 6 days @ €249.03 and thought "hmm, not bad..."

Then went over to the main Hertz site and got a quote for the same car, same time, same place — without any mention of Ryanair.

Have just booked it direct for €227.31...
And that won't be debited to my card until the day I pick the car up.
And they accept American Express, so I'll get a further 1% discount for using my Amex Blue. Net cost €224.58, net saving for not taking the Ryanair "discount", just under €25. Price of a meal for two, where we're going...!

Dr. M.

Re: >>General tips on car hire

Some other posts

ajapale
Car Hire and Child Car Seats/Restraints

Does anyone have any advice on how best to approach Car Child Seats and Restraints in car hire situtation.

Specifically, is it expensive?
Are there some car hire companies better than others?
Are there any third parties offering this service?