rental income tax and capital allowances

D

dcostigan

Hi all

Can someone clarify the following (which has me incredibly confused as I get different answers depending who i ask!)

I bought my apartment in 2005. I live there for 5 years and then I moved in with girlfriend (now wife) So I've been renting it out since October 2010.

Can I claim capital allowances on things like carpets, curtains, furniture etc that I bought when I initially moved in (in 2005) on rental income earned since I started renting it out. One accountant is saying you can't claim on pre-letting expenses but surely capital allowances is different since you kit out a house / apartment before you start renting it

Any help would be much appreciated
David

I'll quote myself from a previous thread on this topic:
http://www.askaboutmoney.com/showthread.php?t=171272&page=3
Wear & tear allowances under S.284 are only ever granted on the basis of the actual cost of the asset in question - S.284(2)(ad) "Where capital expenditure is incurred on or after 4 December 2002 on the provision of machinery or plant a wear and tear allowance for a chargeable period will be of an amount equal to 12.5 per cent of the actual cost of the machinery or plant"

I think we had a thread on here before about the allowability or otherwise of capital allowances on fixtures & fittings in houses that were originally PPRs and subsequently become rental properties. S.284(6) & (7) state
"Wear and tear allowances are also available in respect of capital expenditure incurred on fixtures and fittings (for example, furniture, kitchen appliances, etc) provided by a lessor for the purposes of furnishing rented residential accommodation. The allowances are available only where the expenditure is incurred wholly and exclusively in respect of a house used solely as a dwelling which is, or is to be, let as a furnished house on bona fide commercial terms in the open market."