Overseas investment - French leaseback

M

Marie T

I have 100K approx to invest and was thinking of doing so in the french leaseback scheme. Any recommendations, areas to avoid, pitfalls etc. All opinions valued as I'm a complete novice at this. Would i be better trying the stockmarket?

Re: Overseas investment

There are several threads on the specific topic of French leaseback scheme as well as similar schemes in other countries already on AAM which you should be able to find using the search facility.

I am living in france and have looked into this investment,my observations are
1 You really need to be aware of who owns & runs the complex during the initial 8/10 year period, it may be low income holiday rentals with substantial detoriation of the property
2 Tax, legal, and especially inheritance issues are not the same as in Ireland
3 There are substantial tax advantages for people with French income (similar to section 23 in ireland) however even with this advantage it is still considered high risk by people here

Does anybody know about french inheritance law. I want to purchase a leaseback property and leave it to my husband, however it seems that this is not possible under French law?

heracles said:
I want to purchase a leaseback property and leave it to my husband, however it seems that this is not possible under French law?

leave it to you husband after your death? do you have children? what age?

Yes, I should have said I want to leave it to my husband after my death. I have three children.

Under French law, the deceased (who only owns 50% of the property as married) can not leave his/her share in a property to the surviving spouse and nothing to the children. But this is protection so that the surviving spouse is not forced to sell by the children who are equally entitled to their share.
Have a read at this
http://www.onb-france.com/familia/index.php3?id_gmenu=3505&code_menu=liberalite&id_art=15112&langue=en