Zoned Heating Vs Back Boiler

Duffman

I am currently building a 2200 sq ft bungalow. Trying to decide whether to put in a zoned heating system - splitting the living areas and the sleeping areas which are at different ends of the house. Our plumber told us that we cannot put in that system as well as a solid fuel stove with a back boiler.
I can understand the convenience of a zoned system but I don't want to depend on oil heating only. Any suggestions??

I would get another plumber if I was you. We have an oil boiler and a solid fuel range and we have control over the upstairs and downstairs heating - one or both "zones" can be switched on or off .
If the range is on by itself though - only one zone (downstairs) will heat up - this is because the range isn't powerful enough to heat all the rads - upstairs and down - so that is how my plumber set it up. I'm no expert - but I reckon your plumber could be wrong.

Irish,

I have a 2100 sq ft hse, with a zoned oil heating sysstem (living area and bedroom area). I can do the following off of the oil heating

1) Water heating alone
2) Water plus Living are
3) Water plus bedroom area
4) Water plus bedroom plus living area

Last year I put in a backboiler as well as the oil. The problem I think your plumber is pointing to is getting a backboiler strong enough to run all your rads, whcih is the same problem I have. We went for a solid fuel stove instead of a backboiler, as we could get more power out of it. Still however, it is not enough to hear all zones of the house on its own, so we wither have it heating one zone only (bedroom or living area), or use the oil burner to boost it also.

My opinion is that it was well worth doing, our oil bills have fallen dramatically since. I would look at a stove, rather than a standard backboiler though, as you will get more out of it heatwise.

Regards,
Wexfordman