write off rented apartment cost as a business expense

B

bubbashakes

Hi experts

I'm going to be moving from Cork to Dublin to take on some project work for ~ 6 months. I'm a consultant and all of this work is paid to my limited company. I can then pay myself a salary from this. To keep costs down, I am looking at renting an apartment as opposed to staying in hotels or B&Bs 5 nights week.
In terms of writing off the cost of the apartment as a legitimate business expense, is there anything i need to do, or to be worried about? Also, will utility costs also be deductible as expenses?

My primary residence in Cork will be unoccupied, and I will continue to pay my private mortgage on that property during my stay in Dublin

Thanks in advance for your advice

Hi

I think this similar question was asked over in the taxes forum a few days ago.

Its not allowed as a business expense as it is essentially shortening the commute for you when the business is temporarily based in Dublin and you are living in Cork.

Hope this helps

capnhand

Hi Capnhand

Thanks for the reply. It's unfortunate if that is the case. But if I were to stay in B&Bs or hotels, these are legitimate business expenses, which also shorten my commute.

To be honest, my goal is to save money (or not spend money I do not have :) ) and hence the cost of a rented apartment at 500 or 600 per month is more appealing than 2000 in hotel expenses.

Is there a way I could at least write off some of the cost, or is it simply a no-no?

It's unfortunate if that is the case. But if I were to stay in B&Bs or hotels, these are legitimate business expenses, which also shorten my commute.

No they are not a legitimate business expense.

Your base of operation is going to be your customer's premises in Dublin. And the work you do will presumably for the most part also be carried out there.

The only way such expenses are allowable is if the actual work is away from the base of operations.