Key Post What to do if you can't pay your unsecured debts

number7

Nice post 98merc, hopefully you will be able to update that merc again someday.

I'm no expert but here is my debt advise for those that are interested.

1. When you reach the point that you know you will not be in a position to honour repayments on outstanding debts going forward, sit down and do a full and comprehensive list of all outstanding amounts.

2. Write a standard letter that you can send to each of the lenders involved. Something like:

Dear Sir/ Madam,
With reference to my agreement with __________, your ref __________.

I regret to inform you that I am experiencing financial difficulties at present and may need to contact you again shortly to discuss the terms of my borrowings with you.

I am currently conducting a full review of my financial situation and should be in a position shortly to make a proposal that is sustainable and acceptable to both parties.

In the interim if you have need to discuss this matter with me you may contact me by letter or e mail to the following addresses.

I will not be conducting any discussions on this matter by phone,however I am available to meet any of your representitives by appointment. Please direct appointment requests to the addresses listed above and I will respond by return.

3. Conduct a full review of your finances, follow up with a household budget that will allow you no luxeries but meets the basic needs of the household (if that is possible). This review is designed to identify any surplus that can be devided between your lenders.

4. Compile the results of your review and budget into a proper statement of means which you should type up and make copies of. This is your bible going forward.

5. Compose a new letter to your lenders,

Dear Sir/ Madam
With reference to my correspondance of ________date, refering to your ref_________.

I have now conducted a full review of my financial position see attached Statement of Means.