Vitamins in Lidl

redbhoy

I was in lidl recently and noticed that their stock of vitamins are an awful lot cheaper than the other supermarkets. Would the quality of vitamin be much less inferior?
Who tests these products?

There's a lot of debate as to how effective any of these vitamin XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX really are — the thrust being that vitamins are best obtained (and most effective) from eating healthy, vitamin-rich "real" food.

As long as people are prepared to shell out for various "supplements", pharmaceutical companies will keep churning them out and producing (commissioned) research findings to back up their expensively-advertised claims.

That said, I'm no doctor ;), much less a pharmacologist. Some people swear by them. And I'm sure that the cheaper Lidl products are no better or worse than the others. I "pop" one multivite and one aspirin a day, probably out of sheer superstition and/or because my wife nags me into it. But I'm under no illusions as to how useful they really are in combatting the effects of all my other bad habits... :D

DrMoriarty said:
There's a lot of debate as to how effective any of these vitamin XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX really are .. But I'm under no illusions as to how useful they really are in combatting the effects of all my other bad habits... :D

Anyone else watch 30 Days on more4 last night ? The guy doing guinea pig for nutritional supplements did go off the end of the scale (>40 XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX per day) but it should serve as a salutory warning about using over the counter items such as this.

If you're interested in this and have access to more4, watch out for the repeat ..

Monday 07 November
12:45am to 01:45am
more4

It's by the same guy who did Super Size Me.